Acting life a wife

This rainy October evening was just calling for  soup. Wouldn’t it be nice to have a pretty dinner ready for my hubby when he got home from a long day as a fishmonger? I mean, I am a wife now.

First I made a chicken stock from the carcass of a rotisserie chicken a few days old.(quite a few)

Then I roasted butternut squash, a little apple and garlic

Transferred the roasted veg to a soup pot and added back in the strained chicken stock

Pulverized it all together with some spice

Added in cooked Wild Rice (leftover from the wedding) and called it dinner!!

SIDE NOTE:

This is my new favorite thing: fake candles…they look just like real candles and yet there is NO chance of fire. I got these at Costco, the pillars and the votives both. They run on AA batteries. Perfection.

I hope hubba-wubba likes the soup.  Have a good weekend love bugs.

XOXO

One response

Leave a Reply

