Welcome, 2012

It’s been so long since I’ve made a blog post, I almost couldn’t remember how.

2011 was such a great year, tell me 2012, how are you going to top it?
The husband and I have been setting some intentions and making goals for the year, I would say our loftiest goals are financial. As newlyweds, we are just learning how to set up our married financial books. I’m really curious how other couples do this…old school and modern…if you are married or something similar tell me what you think?
Do you share 1 checking account?
Do you each have a your own accounts?
Do you share all money?
Who pays the bills? I mean that physically and financially…is one person in charge?
If you could change the current system you have, would you?
Just looking for some advise.

One of my personal goals is to blog more. I took a big break from jakeanddina.com after the wedding…I did this project for 29 days heart+love+soup
It was slightly exhausting, but also very inspiring.

Santa brought us a new camera, now I just need to figure out how to use it. Hope to master this soon so I don’t bore you with too many practice photos…
like this one

Be well.

3 responses

  1. Welcome back to blog world! So fun. We should have a camera nerd date soon (Anders got me a one-day SLR class for Christmas!). Re: the money thing. Anders and I keep seperate accounts. It works well for us because I’m uptight and anal, and Anders…isn’t. Haha. We have never had any problems, but we do have an understanding about who pays what bills so there is never a fight about it. I think you just need to find what works for you and talk about expectations in the beginning. That way, there is never an argument down the line about who was supposed to pay what!

  2. Pat and I combined everything. We joined up accounts and just went for it. I pay the bills and monitor our bank account and keep him informed as to where things stand. He’s thankful for me. 🙂 I had a separate account for a while, but ended up closing it and putting the money into savings. He still has a separate account at a credit union, which we are going to add my name to, as a separate savings, which I like to think of as my ‘diamond fund.’ I agree with Sarah though, to each their own. Whatever works for you guys… just have clear expectations.

Leave a Reply

