One pot dinner

I’ve noticed recently when reading recipes on Pinterest that a lot of the ‘one pot’ dinners seem pretty unhealthy. They either call for catsup or mayonnaise or artificial cheese products. I just made a dinner that was one pot and I’m pretty sure it is super good for you. I mean, kale is a super food right? If it isn’t, it should be.
My dad was making something similar last night, so I just adapted his recipe a bit.
It is as follows:

Chicken (2 lbs I used combo of breasts and drumsticks)
Mushrooms (8 large button sliced)
Onion (1/4 large sliced)
Garlic (2 large cloves chopped)
White wine (1/2 cup)
Olive Oil (2 to 3 teaspoons)
Kale (or in this case baby kale) (5 handfuls)

Use a heavy bottom pot or dutch oven (such as a cast iron enamel) on the stove top, to that add a couple drizzles of olive oil. Brown the chicken, I did this in 2 batches only because there were so many pieces. Season the chicken on both sides with salt and pepper as you brown.

Set the chicken aside for a few minutes while you saute the garlic, onion and mushrooms. If the pot is too dry, add another drizzle of olive oil or a splash of water. Saute for a few minutes until onions and mushrooms start to soften…then add in the white wine.

After a couple minutes, add the browned chicken back to the pot and into a 400 degree oven.
 

Wow. That is a seriously dirty oven. I think the flash makes it look worse than it actually is, but regardless, that is embarrassing.
In 15 minutes test one of the chicken breast to see if the juices run clear, if so, it is done!
Next add in the kale, put the pot back in the oven covered for a few minutes…you just want the kale to wilt and soften.
I bought this huge bag of baby kale at Costco. LOVE.
Stir it all up, so that kale gets all the lovely flavors…and delicious!!
Any questions, feel free to shoot me a message.

 

One response

  1. YUM! Looks great. I’m thinking I need to try this. I can see my tired husband coming home and being so excited that dinner is ready. Awesome pictures btw…that new camera does a great job. The pictures are making me hungry!! 😉

Leave a Reply

